Introverted Personality

I’m feeling very melancholy tonight and I’m not sure why. Sometimes I think my personality has a way of not letting me not be happy… I realize that I am not like most people and for a while I was confused about who I was as a person. I guess that happens to young adults when they enter a world of pressure and responsibility. I’ve always said that it was a curse and a blessing to have a mind that analyzes others behavior because it can make me go crazy but at the same time I can learn from peoples mistakes, so I don’t have to make them on my own. I try not to judge people but I know when they are lying and being dramatic and I know when they are pretending to be someone else, when they are trying to be impressive. I know it’s not easy being comfortable just being yourself but sometimes I just want to shake the truth out of them. The truth is so much easier to deal with. And it’s even harder when I am the only one who can see other peoples truths, even when they try to cover it up.

It seems like most people wear a shell and it scares me… Because I don’t know how to respond, I am not capable of humoring them. I cannot be a hypocrite. So most people look at me as if I am dry, unenthused, and probably stuck up. If I can’t change this, then I am going to have a lot of problems socializing with people in necessary situations… Like work, or family gatherings.

I’ve been reading the book “The Introvert Advantage: How to Thrive in an Extrovert World” by Marti Olsen Laney Psy.D. It’s helped me to come to terms with the way I am. I haven’t read it all yet but so for I think I am the definition of Introverted. I’m hoping it will help me to cope with social situations. My happiness is very important to me but how can I be happy if I am disappointing people or if I don’t get a job I want because I am not enthusiastic enough. Why can’t I just have all the answers? Why do I have to wonder about the future all the time?

 

2 thoughts on “Introverted Personality

  1. I won’t be so ignorant as to say I know “exactly” how you feel – but I think I am of a very similar personality. When I find myself in a crowd I can’t seem to “humor” with my genuine personality, I just sit back and quietly observe – I love people watching and interpreting personalities and behaviours. I’m quite content with it though, to be reserved around people who you just don’t click with (whether you don’t click with them immediately or you just don’t click with them at all) isn’t a bad thing. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with being a little introverted 🙂 I think it makes people like us more mysterious and challenging to get to know, and THAT makes you truly appreciate those who DO try to get to know you… I hope that made sense cause it looks very confusing at second glance haha.
    Cheers!

  2. Thank you for taking the time to read and respond to my blog post. 🙂 I really appreciate a fresh perspective. I understand what you mean. I shall try to keep positive thoughts! I have a tendency to over think things 🙂

Leave a Reply

