Post Thanksgiving Thankfulness

kids by KT❤
kids, a photo by KT❤ on Flickr.

It’s easy to remember to be thankful on Thanksgiving but remembering to be thankful for things every other day of the year should be just as important. Trying to focus on positive things instead of negative ones is something I have to work at but I do have a lot to be thankful for everyday.

My Thanksgiving was wonderful because my niece and nephew were there. All the other adults wanted to send them upstairs so they wouldn’t disturb us but I wanted to soak up as much as I could of their company because I know that I don’t get to see them very often. Every time I see them they are a little bit taller and their personalities are developing more and more. I worry that they will forget what it feels like to be comfortable around me, I fear that we will become strangers. Gladly our connection has not broken. The familiarity is still there as well was the interest in getting to know each other better. It is my goal to hold onto their friendships because they are a few of the most important relationships in my life. I probably tell them I love them more then I ought to but I don’t want them to forget. The struggles they have been through are enough to break a person. But they are resilient creatures and they have my respect for it. I just hope they can try to enjoy what is left of their youth before having to continue the battle because sadly it doesn’t get any easier.

Leave a Reply

