All I want for Christmas…

Fashion Studio by intraordinary
Fashion Studio, a photo by intraordinary on Flickr.

I’ve been interested in fashion for a while now. However, I wouldn’t consider myself fashionable by any means. It’s hard to find clothes that fit my body type because I’m short and I don’t have a lot of money to spend on an ideal wardrobe. I just have a fascination with different color combinations, patterns, and textures.

I suppose if I wanted to I could study up on the different types of dresses, skirts, shirts etc. I could find out who the top designers are and learn about the history of how fashion has progressed through time… but I don’t see how that can benefit me at this point.

I’ve decided that I’m determined to learn how to sew. I’ve asked for a sewing machine and accessories for Christmas this year. I bought a book that explains everything I should need to know about the basics and where to get started. This will be a fun hobby for me because if I get any good at it, I can make my own clothes and accessories. I can hem my own jeans (which is a problem that plagues me frequently). I can make pillows, curtains, and other crafty things. It would just be an overall good skill to have.

I know it’s not going to be easy but I believe if you are determined enough to learn how to do something and you don’t give up through the struggles… you can learn anything no matter how difficult.

Leave a Reply

