Make Your Own Mint Tea

mint tea by intraordinary
mint tea, a photo by intraordinary on Flickr.

For some reason, in the mornings… my nerves are at their worst and my stomach hurts so much I feel nauseous. I decided that drinking mint tea in the mornings might help my stomach feel better.

I’ve always wanted to grow my own herbs but I never had a reason to until now. Mint is really easy to grow. I went to my local grocery store and got some fresh mint from the produce department. The sprigs need to be cut at the ends and soaked in water until roots start to form at the bottom. This can take anywhere from 6-14 days… After that you can plan them in soil. The leaves at the top should be cut every so often to promote growth.

Now that I have mint to cut and dry… I needed to make my own reusable tea bags.

The tutorial I used to make them is >>> here.

Mine aren’t anywhere near as cute as the ones in the tutorial but I’m a newb and I did my best 🙂 I made 5, one for every day of the work week.

Speaking of work… I just finished week 4 of my new job. My emotions were kind of up and down my first week. It’s hard to get used to a new routine at an unfamiliar place with unfamiliar people. Expectations are high (mine especially) and I don’t like to disappoint. I feel like I’m getting the hang of everything now but I’m struggling to make friends.

It seems like every time I meet new people they don’t really take me seriously because I look young. I’ve always had to prove myself over and over again and it’s not easy for me to gain respect. As much as I want everyone to like me for the qualities I know I possess, I have to be patient and remember that their approval is not the most important thing. I would really like everyone to like me but we don’t always get everything we want in life.

Other than that I think I will get used to these new changes in my life. It was hard to get over the initial anxiety in the beginning but now that it has subsided, I can see that things will more than likely only get better.

Leave a Reply

