Fabricaholic

Laptop Shoulder Bag by intraordinary
Laptop Shoulder Bag, a photo by intraordinary on Flickr.

The experience of making something like this is what makes it so special when it’s finally complete.

When I looked at the tutorial for this bag, I didn’t think I would be able to do it myself, being the novice sewer that I am, but I just took it step by step. It’s far from perfect… there are seam issues and the stitches aren’t straight in some areas but since it’s my first big project, I think I’m allowed some mistakes. I can’t be perfect all the time! (kidding)

I think I might have a fabric obsession… which is probably going to end up costing me a lot of money but I don’t care. I rarely spend money on myself and at least this way I have awesome things to show for it. There are so many neat things you can do with fabric and there are so many designs to choose from! I love just browsing through them online.

One of my favorite fabric stores online is called Spoonflower. The reason it’s so amazing is because people can upload their own patterns for their own custom fabric. Not only does that give you a huge variety of creative designs to choose from but you are also not limited to what they have available. You can create your own! They also have wall decals and wallpaper, which are also customizable. You can’t really get any better than that!

So! Now I have a beautiful, fun, shoulder bag for my laptop! I can’t wait to make more of these in different and interesting fabric combinations and to experiment by adding more features to it!

I’m so glad I took the time to learn how to sew and if this is where it has brought me in a months time, I can’t wait to see where I will be a year from now!

Want to see the projects I am contemplating making next? Follow my “Learning 2 Sew” board on pinterest!

Leave a Reply

