Adventures in Hair Care

Things in my life have been a lot different lately. I’m exploring new interests and making time for myself. I’ve never been able to spend a lot of time and money on my appearance and now it’s become a big part of my life. Besides experimenting on my nails once a week, I’ve also cut and dyed my hair recently. This might not seem like such a big deal to most people but for someone who usually just gets a trim once a year, it is to me. I just started my new job designing ads for a newspaper in January and I was inspired by my co-workers (who are mostly women) to be more adventurous with my hair. Before now I worked in the food industry for almost 14 years and I’ve always just worn my hair up for work.

One day one of my co-workers came to work with bangs and they looked amazing on her. I asked her where she got her hair done and she gave me the card of her stylist. I was so happy I asked her because it turned out to be the best experience I’ve had at a salon. About a month later another co-worker came to work with a new hair color and it pushed me to make an appointment to get my hair colored. I’ve always wanted to color my hair but I was so afraid it would damage it because my hair is so thin and fine. I am so happy with my new look! I am now going to make a conscious effort to keep it up.

Nexxus

With that said… It’s time for my first product review. Now that I have color treated hair, I was told that using products with sulfate in them can strip the color that I spent so much money to get!  I went to CVS to see if the brand I was currently using, Nexxus, had products for color treated hair. I was disappointed find that even though they did, they were not sulfate free. I really liked this brand, it left my hair feeling soft and smooth and it smelled great. I would definitely recommend Nexxus to anyone who doesn’t color their hair, in fact, I switched from using Pantene for over twenty years because of the reviews I saw online for Nexxus. See for yourself.

With no other solution in sight I ended up buying L’Oreal shampoo and conditioner and was not happy with the result. It seemed to dry out my hair and I don’t much like the smell of the shampoo. It’s a musky type smell that reminds me of men’s cologne. When I looked at my hair after using this product I could see the breakage and split ends. I am sorry I wasted my money.

One n' Only Argan Oil

So I began researching hair products online. I checked the google forums and a lot of products where mentioned, so I looked up online reviews of several of the brands and kept going back to one called One n’ Only Argan Oil (read the reviews). With the consumerism being based so much on the branding, marketing and the  first impression of it’s packaging design, I was surprised when I saw the bottles. They looked like something someone made at home and with a low budget. But this is a good example of why looks can be deceiving! I was relieved to find that my hair is now soft and silky once again and the price is no where near as expensive as a salon brand which is what I would have probably ended up with had this product not worked.

I hope my experience will help to aid you in rediscovering yourself!

*These statements might not be true for someone else. They are just my opinions.

3 thoughts on “Adventures in Hair Care

Leave a Reply

