Reversible Sling Bag

I finally finished my sling bag. I was inspired to do this by my hair stylist because when I told her I had undergone a few sewing projects she said she’s always wanted a sling bag. I wanted to get a practice one in before I started on hers, just to work out any kinks. Being that I made the pattern for this one myself, there were a lot of kinks to work out.

First, choosing the fabric was so hard. I’m still not sure of my choices but luckily she will be choosing her own for the next one. I do love both of these fabrics but I if I make another one for myself, I will choose fabric with a little more color. My favorite of these two is the Dr. Who fabric. For those of you who are not familiar, Dr. Who is a science fiction television show. For all of you nerds out there, you know what I’m talking about. 😉 The fabric displays subtle images of objects that are in the show. The tardis, sonic screwdriver, psychic paper, K-9, and his bowtie. I found both of these fabrics on spoonflower.com

dr who fabric

The biggest problem I ran into was that I didn’t make the strap long enough. I even gave up on finishing it for a couple of weeks but then I thought adding rings would be a good way to improvise. I couldn’t find 2″ rectangular rings at my local fabric store, so I went to Walmart and bought a bag for under 3 dollars and cut the rings off of it.

Even though having a reversible bag is pretty cool because you essentially get two bags in one, I think I will make the next one with pockets in the lining and add a snap on the inside so I can close it if I want to.

Overall I’m happy with the way it turned out, I love wearing it and it feels good to finally have it completed.

Leave a Reply

