Baked Apple Pancakes

Baked Apple Pancakes by intraordinary
Baked Apple Pancakes, a photo by intraordinary on Flickr.

This morning when I realized I was out of milk and could not have cereal for breakfast I had to come up with another plan. I had pancake batter and apples to work with. Normally I would chop the apple up and put it in with the batter but another idea occurred to me.

I cored the apple and cut it up into thin slices. Then I let the apple cook in the pan between low and medium with some butter until it looked soft, like a baked apple. I then poured a little bit of the batter over the apple, just enough to cover it and fall over the edges. I sprinkled on some cinnamon and cooked the pancake evenly on both sides… and voila! A baked apple pancake.

Drizzle with maple syrup, devour and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

