Polymer Clay Owl

Polymer Clay Owl

I picked up a new hobby… haha, here we go again. Maybe this one will last longer than my sewing obsession.

One of my favorite classes in college was ceramics. I had a good experience and I would have liked to learn more but ceramics 2 involved learning how to use the pottery wheel and you had to have short nails for that so I didn’t take it. My least favorite part about ceramics class was mixing and painting on the glaze. It never turned out the way I pictured it in my head. I like that polymer clay comes in a variety of colors, so I don’t have to paint it myself!

I also used to create objects in a 3D sculpting computer program called autodesk maya. I used the objects I created to make clothing in a virtual world called second life. I also made some purses, sunglasses, jewelry, and a pair of shoes. So, I guess you could say I have been interested in sculpting objects for a long time. It’s a wonder I haven’t tried using polymer clay until now.

One day recently, I noticed the clay section in the crafts store and I started looking into all the fun things I could try making on pinterest. Pretty soon… I had everything I would need to get started. My mom really enjoyed ceramics in college too and so I invited her over and we made a couple of cute mice. I don’t think I did too bad on my first attempt. The next few tries, however, I ran into some major problems… but each time I learned something new and now I think I have it under control.

Hopefully you will be seeing more polymer clay sculptures from me in the near future!

Leave a Reply

