Ashlyn

Ashlyn Illustration

I did this drawing of my niece Ashlyn. It’s been such a long time since I’ve seen her and I miss her so much. I’ve been begging her for a recent photo so I could (digitally) paint a picture of her. I realize that this a is a very stylized rendition and I did it that way because I am infatuated with the style of an artist named Kelly Vivanco. I love how she exaggerates the eyes and uses thick dark outlines and bright colors. I don’t claim to be anywhere near as good as she is and I wish I could have gone a little bit further with it but my computer can’t keep up with photoshop these days.

Speaking of computers! Craig is going to build me a new one, he already ordered the parts. I’m so stoked, I haven’t had a new computer in about 7 years. I have had a few upgrades on various parts to keep it going, but I’m long passed due for a new one. I can’t wait!

Anyways, There is not much I can do to show Ashlyn how important she is to me when we don’t get to see each other. I don’t want all of our memories of each other during this time to be non existent. I want to create a good memory… so I hope she likes it đŸ™‚

Ashlyn Side-by-side

The original drawing, which I did in pencil and marker is on the left and the photo I used for reference is on the right.

Leave a Reply

